Narendra Modi takes the oath of office as Indian Prime Minister for the third consecutive term


Narendra Modi, leader of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has taken oath as India's prime minister for a third time. The ceremony took place at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the official residence of the Indian president.

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Narendra Modi, followed by other members of his team of ministers.

Thousands of guests have been attending his inauguration at Delhi's Presidential Palace. The swearing-in ceremony is being attended by Nepal PM Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Bhutan PM Tshering Tobgay, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth, Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina and Seychelles Vice President Ahmed Afif.

Apart from two terms as Prime Minister beginning 2014, Narendra Modi also has the distinction of being the longest-serving Chief Minister of Gujarat with his term spanning from October 2001 to May 2014.

His previous two terms as Prime Minister have been marked by several key initiatives.

PM Modi has laid thrust on the motto of 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas' and on "development-oriented and corruption-free governance".

PM Modi has worked with speed and scale and ensured last-mile delivery of schemes and services.

His initiatives include Ayushman Bharat, Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, Housing for All, Pradhan Mantri Shram Yogi Man Dhan Yojana, Ujjwala Yojana and PM Kisan Samman Nidhi, UDAN, Make in India.

IFL  - Kuwait 2024